Past StoryFest Poets

Don McKay

Poet Don McKay is the author of 28 books, including Angylar Conformity (Goose Lane ed., 2014), Field Marks (Wilfred Laurier Press, 2006), Lependu (Naim Pub House, 1978), and is the winner of two Governor General's Literary Awards for Poetry for Night Field (1991) and Another Gravity (McClelland & Stewart, 2000). His nonfiction book Vis a Vis - Fieldnotes on Poetry and Wilderness was nominated for a Governor General's award. McKay won the Griffin Poetry Prize in 2007 for Strik/Slip (McClelland & Stewart). The co-founder of Brick Books, he was made a member of the Order of Canada in 2008, and currently lives in St. John's, Newfoundland.  

Taqralik Partridge

Spoken word poet and Inuit throatsinger Taqralik Partridge hails from Kuujuak in the northern part of Quebec. She has performed far and wide, from Toronto to the UK and Norway. In 2010, she won the Quebec Short Story Competition, and has since performed throat-singing with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra on several occasions from Montreal to Nunavik. She has also been featured as one of the emerging artists in the CBC's Next! series. Her work focuses on Inuit experiences and relationships with the land in both the North and the South, as well as the dynamic in general between the North and South.

Return to StoryFest page.

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.