StoryFest Authors 2021

Marie-Louise Gay has written and/or illustrated over sixty books for children: the Stella and Sam series (1999 to 2013), Any Questions?(2014), Short Stories for Little Monsters (2016), Mustafa (2018), Fern and Horn and her most recent book, The Three Brothers. Her books have been published in twenty languages. She has also co-written the Travels with My Family series with her partner David Homel. Travels in Cuba is the fifth book in the series.

        Marie-Louise has also written puppet plays, illustrated posters and has been creative consultant on the Stella and Sam show an award-winning animated TV series.

        She has won awards for her work, such as: two Governor General’s Award, Mr. Christie’s Book Award, the Ruth Schwartz Award, the Marilyn Baillie Picture Book Award, the Vicky Metcalfe Award and the E.B.White Award. She has been nominated for the Hans Christian Andersen Award and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.     

David Homel was born and raised in Chicago and has been living in Montreal since the early 1980s. He has written eight novels for grown-ups and five for younger readers, along with the "Travels" series with Marie-Louise Gay. After all that fiction, he recently wrote a memoir about aging, which he calls the battle between Eros and Melancholy. He is hoping the first one will win.


Souvankham Thammavongsa is the author of four poetry books and the short story collection, How to Pronounce Knife, winner of the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Her stories have won an O. Henry Award and appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s Magazine, The Paris Review, The Atlantic, and Granta. Born in the Lao refugee camp in Nong Khai, Thailand, she was raised and educated in Toronto.

Return to Storyfest home page

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.